Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Types of Breast Cancer

There are several types of breast cancer, though some are very rare. The most common form in a woman’s lobules (the part of the breast where milk develops) or in the ducts (the tiny tubes that deliver milk to the nipple). Cancer that remains in its place of origin, either in the ducts or the lobules, is considered “in situ,” or “in place.” Invasive cancer occurs when the malignant cells break through the ducts or lobules and spread to the surrounding breast tissue and/or the lymph system and other parts of the body.

Read more about the types of breast cancer:

Ductal carcinoma
DCIS -- ductal carcinoma in situ -- and IDC -- invasive ductal carcinoma.

Lobular carcinoma
LCIS -- lobular carcinoma in situ -- and ILC -- invasive lobular carcinoma

Inflammatory breast cancer
You don't have to have a lump to have breast cancer. Inflammatory breast cancer.

Metastatic breast cancer
When cancer spreads, it becomes advanced or metastatic. There are a lot of emotions associated with this type of cancer. This article discusses some of them in depth.